State insurance in Tajikistan was established in 1924 to provide social guarantees for citizens, organizations, enterprises and institutions in the country, to protect the interests of state insurance, and to compensate for losses caused by natural disasters, catastrophes and other events.

        After gaining the state independence of the Republic of Tajikistan, the new historical insurance period began.

        By Resolution of Cabinet of Ministers of the Tajik Soviet Socialist Republic dated August 2, 1991, #421 the State Insurance Association (Tajikgosstrakh) was established on the basis of the Main State Insurance Department under the Ministry of Finance of the former Soviet Socialist Republic.

        By Resolution of Government of the Republic of Tajikistan dated August 18, 1994, #405, the State Insurance Company has been transformed into the Tajik State Insurance Company “Tajiksughurta”.

        By Resolution of Government of the Republic of Tajikistan dated August 30, 2011, #429, Tajikistan State Insurance Company "Tojiksughurta" was reformed to as State Unitary Enterprise "Tojiksughurta".

        To date, SUE "Tojiksughurta" has 65 branches and 4 representative offices in cities and districts of country and provides services to population on 22 types of insurances.

        State Unitary Enterprise "Tojiksughurta" occupies a significant and stable position in the insurance market of the Republic of Tajikistan and is one of the leading insurance organizations in country. Based on the results of the first six months of 2019 the Enterprise is in the second place on insurance premiums and in the first place on payment of compensations for damages.